Washington, DC (August 11, 2016) – Members of the Wireless Internet Service Providers Association (WISPA), a membership-driven organization dedicated to the advancement of the fixed wireless Internet service provider industry, are welcoming a slate of new and returning board members and officers for the 2016-2017 term. 

Alex Phillips, CEO of Rural Broadband Network Services in Harrisonburg, Virginia, was elected to a second term as president. Brian Young, Managing Director of ConVergence Technologies in Burr Ridge, Illinois, was elected Vice President; Chuck Hogg, President of Shelby Broadband in Simpsonville, Kentucky, was elected Treasurer; and Dennis Burgess, owner of Link Technologies in House Springs, Missouri was elected Secretary.

The other newly elected board members are:             

·         Jimmy Carr, CEO of All Points Broadband in Ashburn, Virginia;

·         Garth Nicholas, VP/CFO of New Wave Net Corp in Bloomington, Illinois; and

·         Mike Whelan, CEO of AirLink Internet Services in Mounds, Oklahoma.

Several other returning board members were not affected by the recent elections:  Mark Radabaugh, President of Amplex Internet in Luckey, Ohio; and Blair Davis, President of Western Michigan Wireless ISP in Allegan, Michigan.

“All of us on the board are honored by the members’ confidence in us, and we know that Jimmy, Garth and Mike will bring fresh energy and ideas to our work,” said Phillips.

“The WISP industry delivers an essential service to millions of Americans, often in rural and hard-to-serve areas, and we face a number of business and public policy challenges,” Phillips added. “Our collective efforts are vital in promoting and defending our industry in a very competitive landscape.”

Phillips said WISPA’s goals for the coming year include growing the membership and strengthening the Association's presence and effectiveness in Washington, DC.